Skip to content

January 24, 2010

Taken by the Sparrow

Alone,
in my crumbling, one room apartment
in the seedy part of any city.
I’m listening
to my vinyl record of Edith Piaf
the tenth time in a row,
feeling her more each time.
I’m covered in paint just the same
as my otherwise bare wooden floor
and yet another ruined canvass.
I’ve not eaten in a day,
my hunger made worse by the scent of garlic
from the restaurant below
permeating air that serenades my open window.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 5:26 pm

    This reminds me (of younger days, but also) the song Lady Day by Lou Reed. I know of nothing more depressing than yet another ruined canvas. It’s so tiring!

Leave a Reply

